Morning Coffee 5/22/15 Denominations! Can’t We All Just Get Along?

mc

 

 

“I appeal to you, brothers and sisters,[a] in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought. My brothers and sisters, some from Chloe’s household have informed me that there are quarrels among you. What I mean is this: One of you says, “I follow Paul”; another, “I follow Apollos”; another, “I follow Cephas”; still another, “I follow Christ.” Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized in the name of Paul? I thank God that I did not baptize any of you except Crispus and Gaius, so no one can say that you were baptized in my name. (Yes, I also baptized the household of Stephanas; beyond that, I don’t remember if I baptized anyone else.) For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel—not with wisdom and eloquence, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.” (1 Corinthians 1:10-17 NIV)

Hello, family! Denominations have divided us. Baptist, Methodist, Assemblies of God, even non-denomination in some ways has become a denomination. We (myself included) can get so caught up in what denomination we are from. That can hold us back from truly operating the way God wants us to. We should be united! But the Baptist doesn’t want to associate with the Pentecostal because they are not Baptist! Show me a half of a scripture that supports denominations! There is none, why? Because Christ is not divided! In Heaven, there is not going to be a Methodist section and a Pentecostal section and an Assemblies of God section! No! It’s going to be one big family!  I am guilty I am non-denominational but whenever I went to another church that was not non-denominational, I looked down my nose at them! God checked me on it I was wrong! What matters is that we operate in the word of God, we Follow Christ He is the head. Don’t get caught up in denominations it can and will divide!

 

 

Much Love & God Bless

APoetsHeart51

 

 

Music to Listen to:  Freestyle Piano Worship 034

morningcoffeedevotions.wordpress.com

morningcoffeedevo@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Morning Coffee 5/22/15 Denominations! Can’t We All Just Get Along?

  1. As we can see, this is a DEEP subject. On one hand, it has as many angles as there are denominations. 🙂 On the other hand, if we follow Christ and are willing to examine–and even lay down–what “I know is right,” He could lead us into perfect truth and perfect unity. We can be one in spirit if we follow Christ, whatever we are.

    Personally, I believe the confusion came in when churches (or Christendom) got hold of the concept of the invisible church. That has messed everyone up. I believe anyone who follows Christ is a member of His (invisible) kingdom, but we can’t possibly be all one church (one in faith and doctrine, as the Word says) when one group says “This is right; that is wrong, and another group says “This is wrong; that is right.” That does not make for a working Church. It makes for the confusion we have today.

    For example: My brother-in-law (for the nine months he was married to my sister) lived with her for several months prior to their wedding in a state of adultery. My sister had no interest in Christianity, yet He enticed her away from her husband–his best friend, no less—then pressured her to marry him because he said, “Living together like this is wrong in God’s eyes.” He had that right, yet he did it. He still believed himself a Christian even though he did something both morally and biblically wrong. I don’t know the state of his heart today, so won’t say he’s not a Christian now, but at that point I could hardly call him “my brother in the faith.” Sorry.

    I wish we could be all of one accord, but I know the answer isn’t to throw away all truth. If the Bible teaches that something is wrong, we can’t set it aside just to get along with someone else. For example, the Scripture teaches us: “Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world…” So if I tell you we can have all the things of the world—even the things that are purely for pride—and it’s all okay with God, you will know that I am off course from God’s Word. So are we “united” in Christ?

    The next problem is when hundreds of teachers develop hundreds of ideas as to what “the world” is and how much we should love it. Which “things of the world” should we not love? So we get divisions. We could drop a lot of our “definitions” as to what is of the world, but we can’t drop the basic truth so we can claim to be “all one in Christ.”

    All I can conclude is that there are no easy answers here, but If we totally follow Christ and are open to truth as His Spirit reveals it to us through the Word, he can bring us to where He wants us to be church-wise. I always say to people, “Never leave your church until God Himself shows you where He wants you to go next.” Wandering around without any church home or any accountability to other Christians is pure disaster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

