Morning Coffee Re-Post: 7/27/14 Seven Churches (We all Got Issues): Pergamum (Tolerated Sin)

mc

 

“This letter is from John to the seven churches in the province of Asia. Grace and peace to you from the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come; from the seven fold  Spirit before his throne; and from Jesus Christ. He is the faithful witness to these things, the first to rise from the dead, and the ruler of all the kings of the world. All glory to him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by shedding his blood for us.  He has made us a Kingdom of priests for God his Father. All glory and power to him forever and ever! Amen.” (Revelation 1:4-6 NLT)

John the apostle is on the island of Patmos writing the seven churches in a region know as Asia Minor (which is now part southwest Turkey today) God saw the good and bad in each church and He had a message for each of them.

The Church in Pergamum “I know that you live in the city where Satan has his throne, yet you have remained loyal to me. You refused to deny me even when Antipas, my faithful witness, was martyred among you there in Satan’s city. “But I have a few complaints against you. You tolerate some among you whose teaching is like that of Balaam, who showed Balak how to trip up the people of Israel. He taught them to sin by eating food offered to idols and by committing sexual sin. In a similar way, you have some Nicolaitans among you who follow the same teaching. Repent of your sin, or I will come to you suddenly and fight against them with the sword of my mouth. “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches. To everyone who is victorious I will give some of the manna that has been hidden away in heaven. And I will give to each one a white stone, and on the stone will be engraved a new name that no one understands except the one who receives it.” (Revelation 2:13-17 NLT)

The Church in Pergamum faced a lot of persecution like the church in Smyrna. They were loyal to Christ and stood firm in their faith even when one their own brothers was martyred. But they had some issues. They have permitted some Nicolaitans (a group of people that Jesus could not tolerate) to infiltrate the church with false teachings that would eventual lead them away from Christ. But Jesus gives them this hope, Calls them to repent of their sin, and get back in line with Him. If they didn’t were going to reap sever consequences!

What sin has crept its way into your life? You know it’s there but you have allowed it to stay. These sins can be the most subtle but over time they will do major damage to our walk with Christ. I know I got some things. Time to do some house cleaning! We can’t allow anything to derail our relationship with Christ.

 

Much Love & God Bless

ApoetsHert51

Please like comment subscribe!

 

Song to Listen to: Til I See You by Hillsong United   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9eOWMpwxjc

morningcoffeedevotions.wordpress.com

morningcoffeedevo@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Morning Coffee Re-Post: 7/27/14 Seven Churches (We all Got Issues): Pergamum (Tolerated Sin)

  1. Yes, there are some small sins (shortcomings, we prefer to say) that creep in, hogging more and more of our time talking with God as well as our grasp on reality. Mine is daydreaming.
    I’m a writer, so I have an active imagination, right? Since childhood I have always been able to write myself a part in the script of my storybook or favorite TV show. (The latter when I was young; we got rid of our TV in ’74.)
    I know our God is the “I Am”, the God of here & now, but I’m still tempted to slip away when I’m puttering around home and I read a book this fall that really pulled me into the story. The Lord has reproved me through different verses & messages, but oh, how sweet that far country (Luke 15:13) can seem at times! Thanks for being so honest in your writing and reminding us of these things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

