Morning Coffee Re-Post: 7/25/14 Seven Churches (We all Got Issues): Ephesus (First Love)

mc

“This letter is from John to the seven churches in the province of Asia. Grace and peace to you from the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come; from the seven fold  Spirit before his throne; and from Jesus Christ. He is the faithful witness to these things, the first to rise from the dead, and the ruler of all the kings of the world. All glory to him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by shedding his blood for us.  He has made us a Kingdom of priests for God his Father. All glory and power to him forever and ever! Amen.” (Revelation 1:4-6 NLT)

John the apostle is on the island of Patmos writing the seven churches in a region know as Asia Minor (which is now part southwest Turkey today) God saw the good and bad in each church and He had a message for each of them.

The Church in Ephesus “I know all the things you do. I have seen your hard work and your patient endurance. I know you don’t tolerate evil people. You have examined the claims of those who say they are apostles but are not. You have discovered they are liars. You have patiently suffered for me without quitting. “But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first!  Look how far you have fallen! Turn back to me and do the works you did at first. If you don’t repent, I will come and remove your lamp stand from its place among the churches but this is in your favor: You hate the evil deeds of the Nicolaitans, just as I do. “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches. To everyone who is victorious I will give fruit from the tree of life in the paradise of God.” (Revelation 2:2-7 NLT)

The Church in Ephesus are hard workers in the faith and have great endurance. They have a “no tolerance policy” for evil people. They discern people who claim they are an apostle of Christ. But there fire for Christ has diminished. Their love for Christ and each other is not what it used to be. They are a shadow of what they were. Christ calls them to repent and turn back to Him, there First Love. And serve Him as they did in the beginning. Christ warns them that if they didn’t He would remove them from their place among the churches.

Have you lost your fire for Christ your first love? You are still serving Him, but not with all fire and desire that you once had. Jesus is calling to you! “Come back to me! I was your first True Love! I bought you up out of your mess! I established you, and made you a beacon on a hill! Why has your fire grown dim for me? Return to me my beloved, I was and will always be your First Love!”

Much Love & God Bless

APoetsHeart51

 

Please, like comment and subscribe!

Song to listen to: The More I Seek You + Spontaneous Worship Bethel Church feat.Steffany Frizzell https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2ePkVBzBYo

 

morningcoffeedevotions.wordpress.com

morningcoffeedevo@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

