Morning Coffee 8/29/14 The Beatitudes: Pure In Heart

mc

 

“God blesses those whose hearts are pure, for they will see God.”  (Matthew 5:8 NLT)

 

When we are helping someone, what are our motives for helping them? Are we expecting something back? Or do we help them freely without expecting something in return? In everything we do what is the motive of our heart, is it of God or of this world?

“Jesus called a little child to him and put the child among them.  Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. So anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.” (Matthew 18:2-4 NLT)

My mom is a pre-school teacher, at a church not far from our home (within walking distance). I bring her lunch a few times a week so the kids in the school know me well, especially the kids in my mom’s class. They always greet me when I walk in. But on one particular day I was running a little late and the kids were having there play time (they are normally sitting having lunch when I am on time). I walked through the door of the room and all the kids (about 6 or 7 of them) shouted my name and came rushing to hug me.

That is pure in heart! I am not their mother, father, or any close family member. They see me one or two times a week. I haven’t given them anything as far as gifts or toys. But here they are showering me with pure genuine love with no strings attached no hidden motive or agenda. When Christ said we must be like child, He meant the heart. A child will forgive you in a heartbeat. You don’t see children hold grudges; if they do it’s not long enough to be considered a grudge.

Pure in heart, means you hold no ill will against someone, you actions are not based off of self seeking motives. You forgive when offended, and you look to help others before yourself. And you are the same person in public and behind closed doors. These are the qualities of the pure in heart

 

Much Love & God Bless

APoetsHeart51

 

 

 

 

Please like, Comment, subscribe!

 

Song to Listen to: Jesus Messiah by David Crowder  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YqHGFtnMOI

morningcoffeedevotions.wordpress.com

morningcoffeedevo@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

