Morning Coffee 7/30/14 Seven Churches (We all Got Issues): Philadelphia (Endure 2)

mc

“This letter is from John to the seven churches in the province of Asia. Grace and peace to you from the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come; from the seven fold  Spirit before his throne; and from Jesus Christ. He is the faithful witness to these things, the first to rise from the dead, and the ruler of all the kings of the world. All glory to him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by shedding his blood for us.  He has made us a Kingdom of priests for God his Father. All glory and power to him forever and ever! Amen.” (Revelation 1:4-6 NLT)

John the apostle is on the island of Patmos writing the seven churches in a region know as Asia Minor (which is now part southwest Turkey today) God saw the good and bad in each church and He had a message for each of them.

The Church In Philadelphia “I know all the things you do, and I have opened a door for you that no one can close. You have little strength, yet you obeyed my word and did not deny me. Look, I will force those who belong to Satan’s synagogue—those liars who say they are Jews but are not—to come and bow down at your feet. They will acknowledge that you are the ones I love. “Because you have obeyed my command to persevere, I will protect you from the great time of testing that will come upon the whole world to test those who belong to this world. I am coming soon.  Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take away your crown. All who are victorious will become pillars in the Temple of my God, and they will never have to leave it. And I will write on them the name of my God, and they will be citizens in the city of my God—the new Jerusalem that comes down from heaven from my God. And I will also write on them my new name. “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.

Just like the church in Smyrna, the church in Philadelphia was weak; it endured much persecution from the so called Jews. Christ encourages the believers, He tells them He will force the so called Jews to bow before them. And He will protect them from the great time of testing that is coming. Christ tells them to hold tight to what they have.  So that no one can remove their crown.

When I read the about the church in Philadelphia, God bought this famous Psalm to my mind. “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23 KJV) That says it all! “In the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil!” “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies!” NEED I SAY MORE!?!

Much Love & God Bless

APoetsHeart51   

 

Please like Comment subscribe!

Songs to Listen to (In order from 1-3):

1. Awesome God by Rich Mullins: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2w2b033DXCw

2. Awesome God by Hillsong United: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dac-q4F4qg

3. Awesome Medley by Israel & Newbreed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7u-5gjx_Nyw  

morningcoffeedevotions.wordpress.com

morningcoffeedevo@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

